Chapter Overview

The mission of the Little River Chapter of Trout Unlimited is to conserve, protect, and restore the cold water fisheries and their watersheds in and around the Great Smoky Mountains National Park (GSMNP).

Follow updates from our President here!

The Little River Chapter of Trout Unlimited was chartered in 1992 by a group of anglers from Blount, Sevier, and Loudon Counties. The original seventeen members had a vision to operate as a support group for the Fisheries Department of the GSMNP. The Chapter has grown ever since, with our membership currently exceeding 290. The LRCTU is one of eight TU Chapters in Tennessee. We have a proud history with our 30+ year partnership with the Fisheries Department of the GSMNP. Each year our Chapter supports the Fisheries Department with volunteer resources and supplemental funding.

The Little River Chapter functions exclusively for charitable, educational, and scientific purposes. Examples of the Chapter’s ongoing activities include:

1. Monthly Chapter meetings
2. Monthly Tie and Lie fly tying meetings
3. Trout in the Classroom (TIC)
4. Smoky Mountain Trout Adventure Camp
5. GSMNP stream barrier surveys
6. GSMNP acid deposition water sampling
7. GSMNP brook trout restoration and monitoring
8. GSMNP index of biotic integrity (IBI)
9. GSMNP 3-pass depletion stream surveys
10. GSMNP Little River clean-up
11. Pistol Creek clean-up
12.Chapter camping & fishing trips
13. Community science and service projects
14. Annual auction fundraiser
15. Townsend Fall Festival

See more information and ways to volunteer for each under the Activities tab!

You may find upcoming events in our Chapter Newsletters and in the presentation material from our Chapter Meetings.

Chapter Board Members

President – Bob Bishop
Vice President – Bernie Maloy
Treasurer – Harry Fetterman
Secretary – Barbra Giorgini
Program Coordinator – Kim Emery
Volunteer Coordinator, Membership Coordinator, & Financial Reviewer – Richard Barnes
Newsletter Editor – Joyce Frey
Past President – Ernie Frey
Board Member – Jimmy Jones
Board Member – Jim Jollay
Board Member – Jim Jeswald
Board Member – Daniel Spradlin